The Sony Center becomes a virtual place of encounter during the Advent season

The Sony Center brings a festive atmosphere to people's homes through a virtual Advent program. Under the motto "Home for Christmas", the Sony Center organizes exciting do-it-yourself workshops, entertaining readings, and festive music concerts on the four Sundays of Advent. The individual events will all be played out online – for example via the social media channels and the homepage of the Sony Center.

The program kicks off with German star actress Andrea Sawatzki: On the first and third Sundays in Advent (November 29 and December 13), she will read two Christmas stories by Astrid Lindgren to children from the historic Kaisersaal of the Sony Center. Also twice, the Berlin violin virtuoso Iskandar Widjaja will enter the virtual stage of the Sony Center, where he - also from the Kaisersaal - has recorded several Christmas pieces. On the second (December 6) and fourth Sundays of Advent (December 20), friends of classical music will be able to listen to his own compositions and traditional Christmas carols. On the first Advent, THE BARN Coffee Roasters will also be showing directly from the coffee house at the Sony Center how the popular coffee drink Christmas Flat White is prepared. In addition, presenter and cookbook author Elna-Margret zu Bentheim will invite everyone to join her in two DIY workshops to make a Christmas bouquet and bake a Christmas baked apple crumble.

"The Sony Center is more than just one of Berlin's most important architectural sights. For us, it is a place of encounter, exchange, and inspiration through cultural events. Even in these currently difficult times, which are characterized by a lack of social contacts and interaction with others, we want to offer people special Christmas experiences and give them the opportunity to share those with others," says Abigail Shapiro, Head of Germany at Oxford Properties, the owner of the Sony Center. "Because especially now, companies must show commitment and promote social interaction."

Oxford Properties believes in connecting people and creating communities, and we want to continue doing so even in these very difficult times. Since we cannot bring people together physically this year, we are excited to be sponsoring a collection of online workshops where people can connect digitally and still take part in some traditional Christmas activities safely at home”, explains Abigail Shapiro, Head of Germany at Oxford Properties, the owner of the Sony Center. 

Christmas campaign to support charities

"The Sony Center's Christmas campaign also aims to support non-profit organizations whose work fulfills an important social mission, especially in times of a pandemic. “We want to bring awareness and support two charities that help the children most affected by the pandemic. We will be introducing the projects in our workshops as well as through an increased presence on the digital channels of the Sony Center and those of our partners. We are looking forward to an active participation in these events and thank the attendees in advance for their contributions”, adds Abigail.

For example, the program is linked to an appeal for donations to the nationwide "KinderHerz" foundation, which is currently promoting the corona tests of 1,200 children with heart disease, children with serious pre-existing conditions and their comparison groups as part of the C.19 Children's Study in Hamburg. The Berlin children's foundation "Die Arche" is also the focus of the fundraising campaign. This foundation is actively involved in improving the living conditions of disadvantaged children and families in Germany. The Sony Center will donate a supporting amount to both foundations and would like to encourage Berliners and all friends and fans of the Sony Center to support the two charities with donations as well. 

"Fear and insecurity are currently particularly noticeable among the parents of children with congenital heart defects. With our work and the children's study initiated by us, we want to provide answers to give parents and relatives of affected children more security in everyday life," says Sylvia Paul, Director of the Stiftung Kinderherz. "We are delighted that our study is being supported as part of such a festive event. This is a special Christmas present for us and many of the affected families".

The recordings of the workshops, readings and concerts will be published on the social media channels and here on the homepage of the Sony Center am Potsdamer Platz as well as on the channels of the performing artists, such as Andrea Sawatzki, Iskandar Widjaja, and Elna-Margret zu Bentheim, each starting at 10 a.m. and will remain available for a certain period of time afterwards:


www.instagram.com/sonycenterampotsdamerplatz 

www.facebook.com/sonycenterampotsdamerplatz

Das Sony Center wird in der Adventszeit zum virtuellen Ort der Begegnung

Das Sony Center bringt im Rahmen eines virtuellen Adventsprogramms festliche Stimmung zu den Menschen nach Hause. Unter dem Motto „Home for Christmas“ veranstaltet das Sony Center an den vier Adventssonntagen spannende Do-It-Yourself-Workshops, unterhaltsame Lesungen und feierliche Musikkonzerte. Die einzelnen Events werden allesamt online ausgespielt – unter anderem über die Social-Media-Kanäle und die Homepage des Sony Centers.

Den Auftakt des Programms macht die deutsche Star-Schauspielerin Andrea Sawatzki: Sie wird Kindern an den ersten und dritten Adventssonntagen (29. November und 13. Dezember) aus dem historischen Kaisersaal des Sony Center zwei Weihnachtsgeschichten von Astrid Lindgren vorlesen. Ebenfalls zweimal wird der Berliner Violinen-Virtuose Iskandar Widjaja die virtuelle Bühne des Sony Centers betreten, wo er – auch aus dem Kaisersaal – mehrere Weihnachtsstücke eingespielt hat. An den zweiten (6. Dezember) und vierten Adventssonntagen (20. Dezember) können Freunde klassischer Musik Eigenkompositionen des Künstlers und traditionellen Weihnachtsliedern lauschen. Am ersten Advent zeigt zudem THE BARN Coffee Roasters direkt aus dem Kaffeehaus am Sony Center, wie das beliebte Kaffeegetränk Christmas Flat White zubereitet wird. Darüber hinaus lädt Moderatorin und Kochbuchautorin Elna-Margret zu Bentheim in zwei DIY-Workshops dazu, mit ihr gemeinsam einen Weihnachtsstrauß zu basteln und einen weihnachtlichen Bratapfel Crumble zu backen.

Oxford Properties steht für die Vernetzung von Menschen und die Schaffung von gemeinsamen Momenten. Das möchten wir auch in diesen sehr schwierigen Zeiten weiterhin ermöglichen. Da wir die Menschen in diesem Jahr nicht physisch zusammenbringen können, freuen wir uns, eine Sammlung von Online-Workshops zu veranstalten, in denen die Menschen sich digital vernetzen und sicher von zu Hause aus an einigen traditionellen Weihnachtsaktivitäten teilnehmen können“, erklärt Abigail Shapiro, Head of Germany bei Oxford Properties, dem Eigentümer des Sony Center.

Weihnachtsaktion zu Gunsten von Wohltätigkeitsorganisationen

"Die Weihnachtskampagne des Sony Center verfolgt auch das Ziel, gemeinnützige Organisationen zu unterstützen, die mit ihrer Arbeit gerade in Zeiten einer Pandemie einen wichtigen gesellschaftlichen Auftrag erfüllen. „Wir möchten zwei Wohltätigkeitsorganisationen würdigen, die den am stärksten von der Pandemie betroffenen Kindern helfen. Wir werden die Projekte in unseren Workshops sowie durch Hinweise auf den digitalen Kanälen des Sony Center und denen unserer Partner vorstellen. Wir freuen uns auf rege Teilnahme an diesen Veranstaltungen und danken bereits im Voraus den Teilnehmern für ihre Hilfe“, ergänzt Abigail Shapiro.

So ist das Programm mit einem Spendenaufruf an die bundesweit agierende Stiftung „KinderHerz“ verbunden, die aktuell im Rahmen der C.19-Kinderstudie in Hamburg die Corona-Tests von 1.200 herzkranken Kindern, Kindern mit schweren Vorerkrankungen und deren Vergleichsgruppen fördert. Auch die Berliner Kinderstiftung "Die Arche" steht im Fokus der Spendenaktion. Diese engagiert sich aktiv dafür, dass sich die Lebensbedingungen benachteiligter Kinder und Familien hierzulande verbessern. Das Sony Center wird beiden Stiftungen einen unterstützenden Betrag spenden und möchte Berlinerinnen und Berliner sowie alle Freunde und Fans des Sony Center dazu animieren, die beiden Wohltätigkeitsorganisationen ebenfalls mit Spenden zu unterstützen.

Angst und Verunsicherung sind bei den Eltern von Kindern mit angeborenen Herzfehlern aktuell besonders ausgeprägt. Mit unserer Arbeit und der von uns initiierten Kinderstudie wollen wir Antworten liefern, um Eltern und Angehörigen von betroffenen Kindern mehr Sicherheit im alltäglichen Leben zu geben“, sagt Sylvia Paul, Vorstand der Stiftung KinderHerz. „Wir freuen uns, dass unsere Studie im Rahmen dieser festlichen Aktion unterstützt wird. Das ist für uns und viele der betroffenen Familien ein besonderes Weihnachtsgeschenk.

Die Aufnahmen der Workshops, Lesungen und Konzerte werden auf den Social-Media-Kanälen und hier auf der Homepage des Sony Center am Potsdamer Platz sowie auf den Kanälen der auftretenden Künstler, etwa von Andrea Sawatzki, Iskandar Widjaja und Elna-Margret zu Bentheim, jeweils ab 10 Uhr veröffentlicht und bleiben auch anschließend noch für eine bestimmte Zeit abrufbar:


www.instagram.com/sonycenterampotsdamerplatz 

www.facebook.com/sonycenterampotsdamerplatz