"What's next Berlin?" - Everything stays different

The Sony Center is taking its 20th anniversary as an opportunity to launch the podcast "What's next, Berlin?" together with the Berlin media company Mit Vergnügen. In five episodes moderated by the Berlin coworking pioneer Ansgar Oberholz, Berlin's thought leaders, innovators and trendsetters ask themselves the question in which direction the capital city must develop in order to remain a place of lively innovation culture and attract international talent in the future.

What are the trends in art and culture, food, urban development, new business/tech and new work? What influence do they have on the further development of Berlin?

20 years after the Sony Center opened, we are looking ahead - to the Sony Center, to the city, to the future.

 

Trailer

 

Vodcast with Yasha Young

In the first vodcast, the German-American curator and gallery owner Yasha Young discusses the influence of art on urban development together with Ansgar Oberholz. 

What significance does Potsdamer Platz have for Berlin's art and cultural landscape in particular? Why is art in public space so important for a city like Berlin today?

 

Podcast with Yasha Young

 

Podcast with Tim Renner

Moderator Ansgar Oberholz will discuss with former Secretary of State for Culture and Motor FM founder Tim Renner the potential of Berlin as a capital of innovation and the current challenges for the capital to really exploit these opportunities. What ideas should Berlin follow in its urban development in order to promote innovation, creativity and cultural diversity even better in the future?

"I believe that a good urban policy is one that leads to a situation where I really have quotas for spaces that need to be created and developed by people who invest in the development of new culture."

(Tim Renner in the new episode "What's next, Berlin?" the innovation podcast of the Sony Center)

The podcast "What's next, Berlin?" appears every Tuesday on the Sony Center website and everywhere where podcasts are available.

 

 

About Tim Renner

Tim Renner is a music producer, journalist, author and cultural jack-of-all-trades. In 1994 he founded his company Motor Music, with which he published bands such as Rammstein, until he became managing director of Universal Germany in 2001. From 2014 to 2016 he was also State Secretary for Cultural Affairs, responsible for culture in the capital. In 2003 he was named "Global Leader for Tomorrow" by the World Economic Forum, today he runs the strategic consultancy 'Rathaus'.

 

Podcast with Niko Woischnik

Berlin, June 30, 2020: As one of the most important innovation locations worldwide, Berlin attracts young entrepreneurs from all over the world. Thanks to its booming start-up scene and infrastructure for successful promotion and financing, the German capital is now internationally recognized as a start-up hub and breeding ground for creative people. These creative minds include entrepreneur Nikolas Woischnik, who has been actively shaping the Berlin start-up ecosystem for many years. In 2012 he founded the Tech Open Air, which, with around 20,000 visitors, is considered the largest interdisciplinary tech festival in Europe and brings together the international tech and creative scene.

In the current episode of the Sony Center's innovation podcast "What's next Berlin?", Nikolas Woischnik explores the question of how Berlin can continue to hold its own in the competition between the best international start-up destinations. Will Berlin become the next Silicon Valley? How can the city maintain its innovative strength in the long term? And what are the fundamental challenges facing the Berlin start-up ecosystem? Woischnik will discuss these and other questions about the future of Berlin's start-up and new business scene in the third podcast episode, which will be published on Tuesday, June 30, with moderator and Berlin coworking pioneer Ansgar Oberholz.

"I am firmly convinced that the ecosystem of the start-up and tech scene needs a stronger interdisciplinary exchange in order to be even more successful worldwide. As start-up entrepreneurs we often operate in a bubble. But we can't do everything on our own, we have to build bridges to traditional industry, to associations, to politics and - perhaps more importantly than anything else - to science. To create the conditions for this would be a goal that Berlin should set itself once again."

(Niko Woischnik in the new episode "What's next, Berlin?" the innovation podcast of the Sony Center)

 

 

About Nikolas Woischnik

With numerous foundations, Nikolas Woischnik has been helping to shape the Berlin start-up ecosystem for many years. For example, he is the founder of Tech Open Air, Europe's first and largest interdisciplinary technology festival. But it all began with Tech Berlin, the first English-language Berlin blog. This was followed by the founding of his company Ahoy Berlin, with which he offered coworking spaces and which now belongs to Knotel. He also founded the communications agency Openers and recently the non-profit initiative Healthy Together, which actively supports society, politics and business in the Corona crisis with the development of technological solutions under the motto "Technology saves lives".

 

Podcast with Pia Frey

Concepts from the field of "New Work" - driven by phenomena such as globalization and digitalization - have been gaining in importance worldwide for years. The Corona crisis has further accelerated this change and set new standards for efficient, flexible forms of cooperation. In Berlin, too, the working world will continue to change in the digital age of the creative economy.

Pia Frey, new work expert and founder of the Berlin media and tech start-up Opinary, is well aware of this. In the episode of the innovation podcast "What's next, Berlin?" published by the Sony Center on July 7, she talks to moderator Ansgar Oberholz about current new work trends. The focus is also on the current rapid changes in the world of work and the consequences of these changes. What will "normal" everyday office life look like in the future? 

"Berlin has - especially in comparison to other cities - a positive dreaminess. I would therefore be delighted if Berlin were to develop into a central location for social entrepreneurs and socially oriented business models - companies that are profit-oriented but also take on social responsibility. We have different opportunities for this in Berlin and in Germany than in other countries and markets".

(Pia Frey in the new episode "What's next, Berlin?" the innovation podcast of the Sony Center)

 

 

About Pia Frey

Pia is the founder of the media-tech start-up Opinary and has been involved with new work issues for many years. She is managing director and Head of Pusblishers at Opinary. The company cooperates with major media houses such as Spiegel Online, Funke Mediengruppe and Hubert Burda Media, among others, and has offices in Berlin, London and New York and employs over 60 people. In 2016, Pia was named "Journalist of the Year" and in 2017 she was included in Forbes magazine's European "30 under 30" list.

 

Podcast with Billy Wagner

The Corona crisis could change the catering industry permanently. While restaurants and cafés had to remain closed for several weeks, the way people experience food has changed significantly. On the one hand, many people have rediscovered or rediscovered cooking and eating in their own homes. On the other hand, many people have had their food delivered to their homes, either by delivery services or directly by restaurants, including some that have been awarded Michelin stars. 

In the episode of the innovation podcast "What's next, Berlin?" published by the Sony Center on July 14, landlord and sommelier Billy Wagner explains which new gastronomic concepts are promising for the future and what the gastronomy sector will have to prepare for in the coming years. The owner of the Kreuzberg restaurant "Nobelhart & Schmutzig" talks to presenter Ansgar Oberholz about the current transformation of the food scene. At the same time he lets us look back on his childhood in a family of restaurateurs and explains the influence this past has on him as a host.

"I believe that many people have had great experiences in recent months with food that they have prepared themselves. After all, they have had time and have dealt with where their food comes from. [...] Nevertheless, it will always be the case that people want to get out of their own four walls and go to a place where they can meet someone and talk. That's what gastronomy is for and it loosens things up a bit. The physical place will therefore continue to play an important role for a very long time."

(Billy Wagner in the new episode "What's next, Berlin?" the innovation podcast of the Sony Center) 

 

 

About Billy Wagner

Billy Wagner has been running his restaurant "Nobelhart & Schmutzig" in Kreuzberg since 2015, which not only serves sustainable star cuisine under the motto "Brutally local", but also repeatedly takes a political stance. In 2020 Billy Wagner received the Guide Michelin's award for sustainability for the restaurant and was very critical of it. Since Corona, Nobelhart & Schmutzig has also been offering star cuisine for the home and has been very successful with it.

„What’s next Berlin?“ – Alles bleibt anders

Das Sony Center nimmt sein 20. Jubiläum zum Anlass, um gemeinsam mit dem Berliner Medienhaus Mit Vergnügen den Podcast „What’s next, Berlin?“ zu starten. In fünf vom Berliner Coworking Pionier Ansgar Oberholz moderierten Folgen stellen sich Vordenker, Innovatoren und Trendsetter Berlins der Frage, in welche Richtung sich die Hauptstadt entwickeln muss, um auch in Zukunft ein Ort lebendiger Innovationskultur zu bleiben und internationale Talente anzulocken.

Was sind die Trends in Kunst und Kultur, Food, Urban Development, New Business/Tech und New Work? Welchen Einfluss haben sie auf die weitere Entwicklung Berlins?

20 Jahre nach Eröffnung des Sony Centers richten wir den Blick nach vorn – auf das Sony Center, auf die Stadt, auf die Zukunft.

 

Trailer

 

Vodcast mit Yasha Young

Im ersten Vodcast erörtert die deutsch-amerikanische Kuratorin und Galeristin Yasha Young zusammen mit Ansgar Oberholz den Einfluss von Kunst auf die Stadtentwicklung.

Welche Bedeutung hat der Potsdamer Platz speziell für die Berliner Kunst- und Kulturlandschaft? Warum ist Kunst im öffentlichen Raum heute so wichtig für eine Stadt wie Berlin?

 

Podcast mit Yasha Young

 

Podcast mit Tim Renner

Moderator Ansgar Oberholz diskutiert mit dem Ex-Kulturstaatssekretär und Motor FM-Gründer Tim Renner das Potenzial Berlins als Innovationshauptstadt und die aktuellen Herausforderungen für die Hauptstadt, diese Möglichkeiten auch wirklich auszuschöpfen. Welchen Ideen sollte Berlin bei der Stadtentwicklung folgen, um Innovation, Kreativität und kulturelle Vielfalt in Zukunft noch besser zu fördern?

„Ich glaube, eine gute Stadtpolitik ist eine, die dahin führt, dass ich wirklich Quoten habe für Räume, die entstehen und entwickelt werden müssen von Menschen, die dafür  investieren , dass sich neue Kultur entwickeln kann.“

(Tim Renner in der neuen Folge „What’s next, Berlin?“ dem Innovationspodcast des Sony Centers)

Der Podcast „What’s next, Berlin?“ erscheint immer dienstags auf der Webseite des Sony Centers und überall, wo es Podcasts gibt.

 

 

Über Tim Renner

Tim Renner ist Musikproduzent, Journalist und Autor und kultureller Tausendsassa. 1994 gründete er seine Firma Motor Music, mit der er unter anderem Bands wie Rammstein verlegte, bis er 2001 Geschäftsführer von Universal Deutschland wurde. Von 2014 bis 2016 war er zudem als Staatssekretär für kulturelle Angelegenheiten verantwortlich für die Kultur in der Hauptstadt. 2003 wurde er vom Weltwirtschaftsforum als „Global Leader for Tomorrow“ benannt, heute betreibt er die strategische Beratung ‘Rathaus’.

 

Podcast mit Niko Woischnik

Berlin, 30. Juni 2020. Als einer der bedeutendsten Innovationsstandorte weltweit zieht Berlin junge Unternehmer aus aller Welt an. Inzwischen ist die deutsche Hauptstadt dank ihrer boomenden Gründerszene und der Infrastruktur für erfolgreiche Förderung und Finanzierung international als Startup-Hub und Nährboden für Kreative anerkannt. Zu diesen kreativen Köpfen zählt auch Unternehmer Nikolas Woischnik, der das Berliner Start-up-Ökosystem seit vielen Jahren aktiv mitgestaltet. 2012 gründete er das Tech Open Air, das mit rund 20.000 BesucherInnen als das größte interdisziplinäre Tech-Festival Europas gilt und die internationale Tech- und Kreativszene zusammenbringt.

In der aktuellen Folge des Innovationspodcast des Sony Center „What’s next Berlin?“ geht Nikolas Woischnik der Frage nach, wie sich Berlin auch zukünftig im Wettbewerb der besten internationalen Start-up-Destinationen behaupten kann. Wird Berlin zum nächsten Silicon Valley? Wie kann die Stadt ihre Innovationskraft langfristig erhalten? Und vor welchen grundsätzlichen Herausforderungen steht das Berliner Start-up-Ökosystem? Diese und weitere Fragen zur Zukunft der Berliner Start-up- und New Business-Szene diskutiert Woischnik in der dritten Podcast-Folge, die am Dienstag, 30. Juni erscheint, mit Moderator und Berliner Coworking Pionier Ansgar Oberholz.

„Ich bin der festen Überzeugung, dass das Ökosystem der Start-up- und Tech-Szene einen stärkeren interdisziplinären Austausch benötigt, um weltweit noch erfolgreicher sein zu können. Als Start-up-Unternehmer agieren wir oft in einer Blase. Doch wir können nicht alles alleine bewerkstelligen, sondern müssen Brücken schlagen zu traditioneller Industrie, zu den Verbänden, in die Politik und – vielleicht wichtiger als alles andere – in die Wissenschaft. Die Voraussetzung dafür zu schaffen, das wäre ein Ziel, das sich Berlin nochmal mit auf den Weg geben sollte.“

(Niko Woischnik in der neuen Folge „What’s next, Berlin?“ dem Innovationspodcast des Sony Centers)

 

 

Über Nikolas Woischnik

Mit zahlreichen Gründungen gestaltet Nikolas Woischnik seit vielen Jahren das Berliner Start-up-Ökosystem mit. So ist er unter anderem Gründer des Tech Open Air, Europas erstem und größtem interdisziplinären Technologie-Festival. Doch begonnen hat alles mit Tech Berlin, dem ersten englischsprachigen Berliner Blog. Es folgte die Gründung seiner Firma Ahoy Berlin, mit der er Coworking Spaces anbot und die mittlerweile zu Knotel gehört. Zudem gründete er die Kommunikationsagentur Openers sowie jüngst die Non-Profite-Initiative Healthy Together, die unter dem Motto „Technologie rettet Leben“ aktiv Gesellschaft, Politik und Wirtschaft in der Corona-Krise mit der Entwicklung technologischer Lösungen unterstützt.

 

Podcast mit Pia Frey

Konzepte aus dem Bereich „New Work“ gewinnen – getrieben von Phänomenen wie Globalisierung und Digitalisierung – seit Jahren weltweit an Bedeutung. Die Corona-Krise hat diesen Wandel zusätzlich beschleunigt und neue Maßstäbe für effiziente, flexible Formen der Zusammenarbeit gesetzt. Auch in Berlin wird sich die Arbeitswelt im digitalen Zeitalter der Kreativökonomie weiter verändern.

Das weiß auch Pia Frey, New Work-Expertin und Gründerin des Berliner Medien- und Tech-Start-ups Opinary. In der am 7. Juli erscheinenden Folge des vom Sony Center veröffentlichten Innovationspodcast „What’s next, Berlin?“ spricht sie mit Moderator Ansgar Oberholz über aktuelle New-Work-Trends. Im Fokus steht darüber hinaus der gegenwärtig rasante Wandel der Arbeitswelt und die daraus resultierenden Konsequenzen. Wie sieht der „normale“ Büroalltag in Zukunft aus? 

„Berlin verfügt – gerade im Vergleich zu anderen Städten – über eine positive Verträumtheit. Mich würde es daher freuen, wenn sich Berlin zu einem zentralen Ort für Sozialunternehmer und gesellschaftsorientierte Geschäftsmodelle entwickelt – Unternehmen, die zwar profitorientiert aufgestellt sind, aber auch gesellschaftliche Verantwortung übernehmen. Dazu haben wir in Berlin und in Deutschland andere Möglichkeiten als in anderen Ländern und Märkten.“

(Pia Frey in der neuen Folge „What’s next, Berlin?“ dem Innovationspodcast des Sony Centers)

 

 

Über Pia Frey

Pia ist die Gründerin des Medien-Tech-Start-ups Opinary und beschäftigt sich seit vielen Jahren mit New Work-Themen. Sie ist Geschäftsführerin und Head of Pusblishers bei Opinary. Das Unternehmen arbeitet unter anderem mit großen Medienhäusern wie Spiegel Online, der Funke Mediengruppe und Hubert Burda Media zusammen, betreibt Büros in Berlin, London und New York und beschäftigt über 60 MitarbeiterInnen. 2016 wurde Pia zur „Journalistin des Jahres“ und 2017 in die europäische Liste der „30 under 30“ des Forbes Magazins gewählt.

 

Podcast mit Billy Wagner

Die Corona-Krise könnte die Gastronomiebranche dauerhaft verändern. Während Restaurants und Cafés für mehrere Wochen geschlossen bleiben mussten, hat sich die Art und Weise, wie Menschen Essen erleben, wesentlich geändert. Einerseits haben viele Menschen das Kochen und Essen im eigenen Zuhause neu oder wieder für sich entdeckt. Andererseits haben sich viele ihr Essen nach Hause liefern lassen, sei es über Lieferdienste oder direkt von Restaurants, darunter sogar welche, die mit Michelin-Sternen ausgezeichnet sind.

Welche neuartigen gastronomischen Konzepte zukunftsträchtig sind und worauf sich die Gastronomie in den nächsten Jahren einstellen muss, erläutert Wirt und Sommelier Billy Wagner in der am 14. Juli erscheinenden Folge des vom Sony Center veröffentlichten Innovationspodcasts „What’s next, Berlin?“. Mit Moderator Ansgar Oberholz spricht der Eigentümer des Kreuzberger Restaurants „Nobelhart & Schmutzig“ über die aktuelle Transformation der Food-Szene. Dabei lässt er uns zugleich auf seine Kindheit in einer Gastronomen-Familie zurückblicken und erklärt, welchen Einfluss diese Vergangenheit auf ihn als Gastgeber hat.

„Ich glaube, dass viele Menschen in den letzten Monaten großartige Erfahrungen mit Lebensmitteln gemacht haben, die sie selbst zubereitet haben. Denn sie hatten Zeit und haben sich damit auseinandergesetzt, wo ihre Lebensmittel herkommen. […] Trotzdem wird es immer so sein, dass Menschen aus ihren eigenen vier Wänden heraus und an einen Ort gehen möchten, an dem sie jemanden treffen und sich unterhalten können. Dafür ist die Gastronomie da und lockert das Ganze etwas auf. Der physische Ort wird deshalb noch sehr lange eine bedeutende Rolle spielen.“

(Billy Wagner in der neuen Folge „What’s next, Berlin?“ dem Innovationspodcast des Sony Centers)

 

 

Über Billy Wagner

Billy Wagner betreibt seit 2015 sein Restaurant „Nobelhart & Schmutzig“ in Kreuzberg, das unter dem Motto „Brutal lokal“ nicht nur nachhaltige Sterneküche serviert, sondern dabei auch immer wieder politisch Position bezieht. 2020 bekam Billy Wagner für das Restaurant die Auszeichnung für Nachhaltigkeit des Guide Michelin und sprach sich sehr kritisch dagegen aus. Seit Corona bietet das Nobelhart & Schmutzig auch Sterneküche für zu Hause an und ist damit sehr erfolgreich.